Brewsday Tuesday – Left Hand Milk Stout

Brewsday Tuesday is a feature where I talk about a craft beer I’ve had lately. This week’s featured beer is Left Hand Milk Stout.

lefthandmilkstout.jpg

Now, Left Hand Milk Stout is very special to me. It is due to this particular beer that I got into craft beer in the first place. The smooth, approachable flavor of this beer on nitro combined with vanilla ice cream made me come back for more. Thanks to Left Hand Milk Stout, I was able to start with porters and stouts, branch out into amber ales and lambics, and eventually become the craft beer nut that I am today. When I moved into my first apartment in Austin, my husband and I split a six-pack of this beer after we finished the moving process, and it remains my fondest memory of that place (which was otherwise a shithole). If you think someone in your life needs to come over to the craft beer side, have them try this beer, particularly if they’re already a fan of Guinness.

milkstoutnitro.png

This beer is probably most famous for being available in bottles (and now cans!) on nitro. While I prefer the nitro version, I’ll happily drink either.

Left Hand has started billing Milk Stout as “America’s Stout,” and I could not agree more. I was finally able to fulfill a dream of mine by visiting Left Hand in Longmont this past weekend, and while Left Hand makes some fabulous beers – I particularly love Good Juju and their Oktoberfest – this beer is the universal crowd pleaser. I’ll rally for this to be America’s Stout any day.

IMG_0271

My nitro pour at the Left Hand tasting room. Liquid gold, right there.

Now, you’ll most likely find the beer on nitro at any bar you visit, but I think it’s delicious either way. The beer will pour a dark brown color, almost black, with a strong cocoa nose. A nitro pour will be creamier, for sure, but drinking Milk Stout on CO2 doesn’t detract from the vanilla and cocoa flavors. This beer is sweet without being rich, cloying, or overwhelming. I can literally drink this all night, and have done so. Straight up, this is a damn fine beer.

This is a beer for ice cream. Drink it alongside or on top of your favorite vanilla, though I could see it going well with ginger ice cream as well. For cheese, you want a really fudgy blue. Nothing too aggressive or stinky, but something creamy and rich to play with the chocolate notes. That being said, this is a beer that doesn’t ever need food – it stands on its own.

That’s all for this week’s Brewsday Tuesday. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

