Friday Things

Congratulations, you’ve made it to another Friday! No long weekend this time, except in the metaphorical sense – I’m probably going to be glued to my work email. Not like I can get out too far anyway, since Cheyenne got hit with 5-7 inches of snow. I went for a run last night, then shoveled the walk since I was already outside. I honestly could not say which was harder.

Lots of link goodness coming at you for the weekend. Some of this is from a couple weeks back, but they’re all good reads.

Did anyone else read this talk with Jessa Crispin? I thought she brought up some thought-provoking points about capitalism, but disagreed with a lot of what she had to say. It made me think, that’s for sure. I like to engage with points of view I don’t necessarily agree with as long as they’re well-thought out and civilly-worded.

We all have our bad body image days – I know I’m certainly not immune. These body image resolutions from Megan and David Roche were exactly what I needed to hear this week.

Agreed, state parks rock.

This also picked me up this week. Go to your town halls, people! And write and call your reps if they aren’t holding one.

Hmm, is anyone really surprised by this? Seasonal employees were some of those most affected by the hiring freeze, though some of that’s been reneged for the Department of the Interior. I’ll be interested to see how the military demographic reacts to the current presidency as it continues.

These comebacks to all your winter running excuses were what managed to get me outside yesterday.

This blog post on “Not All Men” is a long read, but it’s so good. I think the opening sentences alone stand to make an impact, but it really calls those with privilege to be true to their integrity and learn from their critics. It’s easier for you to read to get the jist rather than have me try to explain it because it’s packed with good stuff…so read it!

These lessons on aging from a 105 year old cyclist are awesome! I’ve seen firsthand the impact that staying active at low levels makes on one’s longevity.

I’m really on board with the movement to abandon bombers for high ABV, small batch beers. Prairie does this with their various Bomb! variations, and I think it’s the perfect way to do this sort of thing. One 12oz bottle of this type of beer is really two drinks anyway, and I never come away unsatisfied. Also, uh, drinking an entire bomber of this destroyed me one time, so I might be a little biased.

This profile on Rahawa Haile, a black woman who did a thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail, combines a lot of my favorite things: trails, good literature, and critically examining activities through the lens of intersectionality.

Happy Friday everyone! If you’re in the Mountain West, stay warm! If you’re east of here, well, uh, I’m sorry about those 85+ degree days.

Leave a Reply

