Friday Things

One of these days I’ll actually get a post up on time. I’m going to blame it on the busy season at work. We’ve stolen away to Colorado Springs for the weekend, so hopefully I’ll be able to get some R&R.

No real adventures to post about lately, mostly due to the aforementioned busy season and a tweaked nerve in my right foot. I did manage to get out on the dirt roads by Vedauwoo last weekend and get pelted with sharp, tiny hailstones. We also ran a 5k the weekend before that I had a draft post written about, but it got eaten by the internet, so I’ll give you the condensed version: you lose a ton of fitness when you don’t run for almost 9 months, but if the race is small enough you can still place.

img_0133

Swag. I don’t really need another pint glass,but it’s better than a cheap plaque.

Anyway, here are some links for your weekend:

I’m proud of Wyoming for managing to get outdoor enthusiasts and hunters on the same side. I know that the Wyoming Outdoor Council is partially responsible for bridging this gap. We’ve all got to work together for conservation.

At the same time, I’m disgusted with Texas. Part of my job ensures that children have access to special education services they need, and a critical part of that is having the school, the parents, and the doctors work together.

This article does a good job illustrating how complicated energy issues can be. While I’m happy that coal is on the way out, the Najavo are getting a really raw deal here (not surprising, but still, ugh).

I made this recipe for pumpkin pecan baked steel cut oats a couple weeks ago, and even my oatmeal-averse husband was into it. Great with vanilla yogurt on top.

I really loved this article on reclaiming the image of what a runner looks like. All bodies are perfect, and you should never let the mass media’s sculpted image of what an athlete is “supposed to look like” slow you down from pursuing what you love. I’ve been seeing a lot of stuff about Kelly Roberts lately, and the more I learn about her, the more I like her.

My husband’s breakout Valentine’s Day gift was this amazing goat’s milk salve. It has a soft, whipped texture, is not greasy, and just the tiniest dab works wonders. It also smells like citrus cake, which may not be everyone’s jam, but I’m into it.

So I’m not into this whole Pokemon Go thing, but apparently Blissey is ridiculously overpowered. To this I say: have you never played an actual Gameboy/DS Pokemon game?

Trail Running Blog of the Week: her posts are sporadic, but I have to give some love to Liza Howard. Her blog makes me nostalgic for the Texas trail running scene, but more than that, her writing is incredibly hilarious and real. Her life looks like life for the rest of us…except I don’t win marathons or ultras.

 

 

Leave a Reply

