Brewsday Tuesday – Adobe Igloo

Well, I was hoping to get this up earlier, but better late than never? I mean, it’s still Tuesday, right?

Brewsday Tuesday is a weekly feature where I highlight a craft beer I’ve had lately. To kick off the first installment, we’re gonna talk about Adobe Igloo.

Adobe Igloo is the winter seasonal from Santa Fe Brewing Company, and it’s a winter ale with a New Mexico twist. Instead of using the normal winter warmer spices (cinnamon, allspice, orange peel), SFBC spices this bad girl with cacao nibs and red chile.

It pours beautifully and a bit darker than your usual winter warmer. Now, because of the color, the first time I tried this beer in 2015, I thought it was a stout and was not a fan. That is most definitely not the case. When I was able to recognize Adobe Igloo as a winter warmer, my appreciation of the beer greatly increased. This beer seems to be fairly divisive, but after a few tries, I’m solidly in the “love it” camp. It’s thick and malty, and the cacao nibs give it a nice chocolate flavor throughout. The red chile definitely comes through in the finish, but is more warming than actually spicy (that might be my Southwest palate talking). Plus, gotta love that can!

We picked up a six-pack of this while in Santa Fe for Christmas, and having one of these on a cold night definitely takes me home.

img_0016

Be warned that I haven’t seen this in Wyoming (SFBC doesn’t distribute up here – please?) or Colorado. However, my beer hunting is generally limited to the Fort Collins area, and I’ve seen Santa Fe’s beer up there.

Pairing-wise, this is definitely a beer for dark chocolate. If you’re lucky enough to be in Santa Fe, drink it alongside the dark chocolate crunch donut from Whoo’s Donuts for the ultimate indulgence. If you’re looking to pair with cheese, I’d say go for a soft, bloomy cheese with a mild sweet flavor. Winter warmers usually do well with cheeses that have a nutty, caramel flavor (think hard goudas), but the chile and chocolate here kind of throw that off.

Thanks for joining me for this week’s edition of Brewsday Tuesday – cheers!!

Leave a Reply

